The evolution of a creamery

Which came first the chicken or the egg… er, I mean the goat or the cheese?

Because of my long standing passion with cheese, most people assume that I got involved in this cheesemaking business for the cheese. They couldn’t be further from the truth.

It was the goats, definitely the goats, first.  The first goat I ever met was Thumbelina, Lily’s last daughter. Yes, I remember precisely when my mentor and I met and she started weaving her dark magic to entwine me into the dark shadows known as ‘the goat world.’

Okay, my mentor is far from one who practices the dark arts, but she did actively try and recruit me into the almost secret world of goats. Of course, I was easily had. It wasn’t the baby goats that got me, but the moms. The adult milk-giving beasts are affectionate, friendly and love to hang out. Don’t get me wrong, the babies are adorable, amazingly adorable.

Having goats no longer was an option for my life, but having them be something more than just a drain on our budget was a necessity. Then I learned not only could I enjoy cheese, I could make it! It turns out that I can actually make it really well. Some people attribute my passion for cheese, some people credit my passion for goats, some people could care less why, they just want to eat my cheese. I think they’re all right.

I know the passion is a bit more than just for the goats now though. I haven’t made cheese in 2 months. I’m suffering withdrawals. I’m plotting and scheming to try and get some cheesemaking in before my goats start kidding… I need it.

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, Cheese, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The evolution of a creamery

  1. Bob T Panda says:

    Hey, not only do you make great cheese, have excellent taste in Panda satire, but YOU CAN WRITE WELL TOO!!!! (capital letters intentional!) Fun to see the finished cheese making room, built by his most excellent self. I don’t have to worry about him reading this and being embarassed since he eschews the world of the computer. Eschews…. pretty sophisticated vocabulary for a panda, wouldn’t you say?
    congrats on the blog.
    Bob T.

  2. Thank you, and yes our GC was (er, is) amazing! The patience and tolerance level he must have to have so effectively dealt with diy-ers that had no clue what they were supposed to be doing!
    You are my panda hero Bob!

Leave a comment