A day off on a farm?

If you’re a farmer, you probably clicked on this to see how one gets a day off on a farm.

If you’re not a farmer, but know one personally, you’re probably waiting for the punchline.

If you don’t know any farmers, you’re probably wondering why I’m blogging about my ‘weekend’ (just a hint – we don’t get weekends, or days off!).

But I did. I took a day off!

The goats taking their sabbatical is freeing up a bit of time for us. I have started another paying job off the farm (2 part time jobs so I can farm… that is another post!), so I don’t have as much time as I had hoped, but hopefully some of the financial pressure created by farming (ahem, yes, yet another post!) will be eased a bit.

What would I want to do with all this new found ‘spare’ time? I want to learn things.

My patient, hardworking husband took over our next to last Saturday market of the regular season for me and I went all the way to Rochester Washington. Including the ferry it was a little over 3 hours to get there.

I knew I was going to learn a lot. It was called Photography on the Farm and it was on the amazing Helsing Junction Farm.

I don’t want to make this a long post telling you all of the stories I learned about the farm, about the area, about food writers and photography… but I wanted to share a bit of what I captured through the lens.

Thank you Audra Mulkern, for teaching our motley crew of shutterbugs.

Thank you to PCC Farmland Trust for organizing the event and keeping it at an affordable price for even a farmer (yes, it was free!).

And especially, Thank YOU to the sisters of Helsing Junction Farm for opening your farm up for this event. I hope you are pleased with the photos it produced.

On the way to the Photography event I was stuck in traffic... but this was my view.

On the way to the Photography event I was stuck in traffic… but this was my view. (iphone)

Fall Bounty

Still life with Helsing Junction Farm bounty. (iphone)

Fruit box

Helsing Junction Farm fruit. (iphone)

Helsing Farm

Helsing Junction Farm fields… growing photographers. (iphone)

Even though I was quite pleased with the photos I captured on my iPhone, I got to play with my new Nikon too.

Barn door

Old barns make for beautiful photos. (Nikon)

Barn sky

The outside of that beautiful old barn. (Nikon)

Farm photographers

Helsing Junction Farm fields. (Nikon)

Farm Post

Farm fenceposts. (Nikon)

Fence moss

Fence rail. (Nikon)

Harvest Farmer Photoshoot copy

Farm harvest, farm photographers. (Nikon)

Tomatillo

Tomatillos. Nom! (Nikon)

Pepper

Peppers. (Nikon)

Pear fruit copy

Fruit. Delicious, beautiful fruit! (Nikon)

Organic lettuce

Lettuce +1. I always think of spring lettuce, but autumn greens have the best flavor (and color apparently!). (Nikon)

Plum smiles copy

We didn’t just take photos of the food… Delicious! (Nikon)

bw still practice copy

Black and white produce. (Nikon)

Work Bench copy

Work bench. (Nikon)

PCC Farmland Trust copy

Thank you PCC for the great day! (Nikon)

Farm Stand Sign copy

A stop at their farm stand yielded some delicious beans, honey and squash… and some lovely sky colors changing. Autumn darkness wasn’t far behind. Thank you Helsing Junction Farm, for all you do! (Nikon)

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in It's Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A day off on a farm?

  1. I especially love the close-up shots of the fruits and plants. Gotta get me a decent camera!

  2. Ann O'Neill, Cottage Gardens, Graham, WA says:

    I think you were quite productive on your day off! Beautiful pictures. I too enjoyed a day off the farm, (even if it was to travel to another farm). A fun event I would recommend to everyone, if given the chance. (hint PCC)Thanks for sharing.

  3. suetaves says:

    Wow! Wait, did I say wow?

  4. Nick says:

    Wonderful cameras help, but these pictures reflect for me a beautifully trained eyes and curious mind! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Pingback: Chief Milkmaid || A little perspective | Whidbey Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

