Raspberries and chevre – summer delight!

My job (as Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm) is hard.

I’m sure you’ve heard me say it… I work LONG hours. I do a lot of manual labor, use a lot a pitchforks and wheelbarrows. I wash a LOT of dishes. Wah.
Oh, and the pay is bad… but that’s a whine for another day.

So why do I do it? The perks are out of this world!

I truly have to suffer for my passion. I simply MUST get a kiss from Lacey before she exits the milkstand every single milking (twice a day, every day). And Xenia won’t get down from the stand without a proper backrub.
Watson gives me a backrub if I just sit in the pasture for a few minutes (it’s a butt-rub if I stay standing).
…and that’s just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to my goats, there is so much more!

I get to play in the cheese room. Every batch of cheese offers delights to the senses!

Oh, and I have to do research and development… not just trying new cheeses and other dairy products to expand our offerings, but I HAVE to experiment with ways to prepare our products so I can make helpful recommendations at market.

Today I did some really, really hard work for the farm.

First, a simple dessert, more for quality control than anything…

Ice cream with Cajeta

Ice cream with Cajeta


Pistachio ice cream with Cajeta! MMMmmmmm!!

It’s kind of like cheating though. You take our delicious goat milk caramel sauce and pour some over cold, delicious ice cream. Add a spoon and you’re done.

Then I put some effort into coming up with a brand new recipe idea for summer. Inspired by the summer barbeques in the neighborhood, it’s a light, summery dessert.

Fresh local raspberries and Caprine Cream Chevre

Fresh local raspberries and Caprine Cream Chevre


I started with some local raspberries (from Quail’s Run Farm!), added some of our Caprine Cream Chevre. I mixed it together with a fork.

Mixed raspberries and chevre

Mixed raspberries and chevre


I mixed it together with a fork.

Dessert!

Dessert!


Then we ate it on graham crackers and chocolate!
Wow!

Yes, my life is hard. I’m willing to keep working hard like this to come up with more new ideas to help you enjoy our farm’s goodies too, that’s how much I care.

I can’t wait to see what work I get to do tomorrow!! (It involves bottlefeeding baby goats… but someone has to do it, right?)

Aphrodite meeting her new guard momma/llama

Aphrodite meeting her new guard momma/llama

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Gluten Free Recipe Ideas, Market Food - Food Blog Amateur, Vegetarian Recipe Ideas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

