Christmas Eve on a farm:

The year is almost over. Winter solstice has come and gone and days are getting longer once again.

Our goats have been dry (not in milk) for a while and they are getting pudgy with the new lives forming inside them. They are getting fuzzier with their winter coats getting thick and full.

The sheep are warm under several months of woolen growth.

Winter is here.

Tonight we celebrate… not Santa, but the old Christian tale of animals talking at midnight. http://www.skywriting.net/inspirational/stories/the_night_the_animals_talked.html

My mother, the most amazing woman to have ever lived, helped fill our young minds full of tales. The one that has stuck the longest for me was the story of the Christ child, born in a manger because there was no room at the inn, waiting for the Wise Men (which presumably were late because they wouldn’t ask for directions!).

It wasn’t the Christ child or virgin birth or even the idea of there being THREE wise men (really, one would be believable – two maybe even possible… but three?), that caught my young imagination. It was that on Christmas Eve, at midnight, the animals could speak.

In my young years I tried and tried to stay up late, not to see Santa, but to be able to speak with our animals. I never once occurred to me that animals, once they could speak, might not speak English! It wasn’t until my teen years questions like that came to mind.

Now with a farm full of critters, this idea of the animals talking at midnight catches my fancy every year.

I’m so taken with the story, but the reality is I get to talk to my animals every day. They don’t speak English, but they do understand it… at least a few phrases. They communicate to me, they interact with me all the time… mostly for food or affection… kind of like humans, I guess.

I do love the critters and the humans in my life. I love the animals that communicate so clearly and plainly, but not in English… and the humans, even with their less direct and sometimes downright confusing communication.

With love, from our farm to you,
Happy Christmas Eve, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your critters.

Snow Heart on the Little Brown Farm

Snow Heart on the Little Brown Farm

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, It's Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Eve on a farm:

  1. Deb South says:

    Merry Christmas to you, your family of humans and all of your furbabies. I enjoy reading all of your blogs and I believe my animals know exactly what I am saying also.

Leave a Reply

