50 Days Across the USA

It started out as a fledgling idea.

To be honest so did our little dairy, so that is a terrifying sentence for those that know me.

I had an idea where I wanted it to go, but I felt it needed a life of its own too, so I didn’t put very many rules or guidelines on it… I just posed a question to my 700+ facebook friends.

“If I went to _____ what should I not miss?”

There were a few states that got more attention than most. I live in Washington State, so it didn’t surprise me when Washington State received a large response. I have many, many friends in (or from) California, so again… tons of input.

I know virtually no one in Virginia or Mississippi and I got very little input.

There was something I was hoping to learn, without coming right out and tipping my hand. I was hoping to get some help plotting a trip I am planning on taking. I got some help with that!

However, I learned SO much more.

I learned that no matter who your peer group is, there is something valuable in EVERY. SINGLE. STATE. Of the United States of America. EVERY single place has things, people, places deemed worthy of seeing, meeting, getting to know.

Every. SINGLE. Place! Do you understand that? Not just places where people are excessively ego-driven about their zip codes. Each State… all 50. Not one is worthless. Not one deemed as a throwaway.

This was just my little peer group. Your peer group extends the reach, extends the value.

Is that as significant and ground-shaking to you as it is to me?

In this time of hate and discontent, this time where discourse is dismissed and division is the altar we are worshipping at… each State is valuable. Not Red States, not Blue States. Not religion or location or creed or color or gender or ANY dividing lines… simply 50 valuable States, creating a union of spectacular places to go, see, be.

So the results? Well, they will become an outline for a journey you will learn much more about in 2014. The road trip isn’t intended to start until 2015, but there will be a few short visits in 2014 to make sure the plan is feasible… and this time social networking will be just as big of a part of it, I won’t be able to do it from the warmth and safety of my sofa!

In the meantime, thank you for participating… I received more than 27,000 words of encouragement, recommendations and invitations. Social networking… I know some people don’t like it, but I am a fan! Thank you.

(It isn’t too late to participate. Here are the ‘guidelines’ I posted… want to contribute? Add to the comments on this blog!)

And this is where I will add my apology for ignoring my blog for too long. We have been busy… did you know that even before market season was over we opened a pop-up shop at Bayview Corner? (Handcrafted on Whidbey… check it out!!). We start our winter market soon too and Laughing Bellies Toffee season is here!!

Holiday Shopping at Bayview Corner

Holiday Shopping at Bayview Corner


I will try and keep you more up to date… maybe check us out on Facebook, I seem to update there much more often!

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in It's Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 Days Across the USA

  1. Whale Drama says:

    YES! there IS something to see/discover/enjoy in every single state in the US! SO looking forward to hearing more about this! %-)

  2. I suspected that much, but I did think with the concentration of my friends a few States would have no posts… I am thrilled I was wrong. How comforting. The planning of the journey is beginning!! I am thrilled, nervous, excited and optimistic!

Leave a Reply

