Is it only Wednesday?

An interesting day as part of an interesting week. This week has been a rollercoaster.

Three trial cheeses and one other dairy product made today, two completed – two will take a while longer to develop. We have at least one hands-down winner (the other isn’t ready to ‘test’ until tomorrow).

Our dear Milking Minion, Anna asked me today after I let her know the latest drama by the latest lowlife… “Is it National Backstabbers Week or something?”  Nothing like some awesome r&d to heal a few dagger wounds in the back of this Milkmaid… although honestly getting my head out of the game for a few hours of intense accounting at my off-farm job helped too, and an evening hanging out and making deliveries with my amazing daughter was the icing on the cake. 

So today I worked my afternoon off the farm, my morning mostly in the cheese room, my evening split between cheese work, product deliveries and dinner with my babygirl (who graciously lets me still use that nickname even though she is now a lovely, remarkable, young woman). It is now almost 2am and I’m finishing laundry for a surprise trip I’ll tell you about later. If I didn’t have Anna and my wonderful husband to help with farm chores today I simply couldn’t have had the marvelous day I did. I am lucky and grateful for the amazing talent that surrounds me.

The good news – at least the crappy people, well, I knew they were crappy. I called it. Although relatively out of practice, my judgment is still reasonably sound. I just tried to take the high road and give them more benefit of doubt than they deserve. Relying more on optimism than judgment they received more from us than they will ever be worthy of. However, I am often on the receiving end of more than I deserve (case in point – have you met my amazing husband?) so really, who am I to complain?

The excellent news – sometimes I even surprise myself in the creamery… and whether we hit a home run or strike out with r&d, it never fails to bring a smile to my face, a twinkle in my eye and remind me that I’m where I belong.

Thank you, thank you, thank you to the other two other PNW dairies and inspection agencies that helped turn this into a banner week. Your faith in us makes us proud and grateful to be one of your colleagues.

Humbly,

Vicky Brown, Chief Milkmaid

P.S. My apologies for any cryptic-ness of this post. For the sake of clarification, the other dairies mentioned and the r&d details will be spilled soon enough when all the details are hammered out, trust me, this news is worth waiting for. As for the dagger bits and crappy people, well, they have had enough of my time and occupied enough space in my life, they don’t deserve any more… suffice it to say, I’ve got some amazing, lovely people in my corner. The time invested in building this dairy, one relationship, one permit, one day at a time over the course of years with attention to details focused and fixated upon will always be its own reward. No, the crappy people haven’t brought us down, we are still on terra firma… up here on the high road… and the views just keep getting better.

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, It's Personal, Rant Rant Rant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it only Wednesday?

  1. I wish you every success in your R&D efforts, Chief Milkmaid. I wish I could get my hands on your cheese! It is nearly impossible to get anything but cow’s cheese here, and I’m allergic. Sometimes I must wait over a month for a shipment of one incredibly expensive wheel of cheese – often it’s not at all what I asked for (more like a Parmesan than a Gouda, cheddar or mozzarella type cheese…). And I love cheese. Passionately.

  2. Bob T Panda says:

    You are being EXCEEDINGLY cryptic, and this panda doesn’t like it! Dish the news now, or I’ll send the panda kindergarten to sort you out. (are you scared yet? No? darn. We pandas are just not scary…now if I was a grizzly, growly growly growly growly grizzly bear….)
    I want to hear the good news. Pandas don’t like to wait. we are endangered, you know.

Leave a Reply

