Ethereal

I can’t stop smiling.

Chef Nathan Lyon (for his show Good Food America) went to the Walrus and the Carpenter, where amazing and talented Chef Eli Dahlin showed him how to whip up some spectacular dessert with Little Brown Farm whipped up Caprine Cream Chevre.

Eli has been a wonderful support to our farm, no exaggeration, truly the reason we made it through the winter last year. Every farm needs (at least) one chef that believes in what they are doing as much as they do. Eli is that person for us. (And how lucky are we to have such a remarkable person to have in our corner… seriously, this guy is genius and one of the few people I know that literally works as hard as we do!)

There are times when we have to deal with grumpy women in uncomfortable shoes on a garden tour callously throwing our cheese back at us. When things like that happen, in the back of my mind, I have Eli… his unwavering support carries me when I’m exhausted and still need to find the reserve to make cheeses, milk goats, wrap cheese for market or even just muster the energy to stand there and smile. It carries me when I have cheese to tend and a sick goat (and yes, I always choose the sick goat). It carries me when I get the average amount a sleep a person needs in a night… over three days (and nights).

Now I have Chef Nathan Lyon too, not quite as directly, but… Ethereal. That’s what he said. He said it. No grumpy shrew, no ill-mannered children with inattentive parents, no freak that insists on ruining our samples by using a toothpick from his pocket (even after asked not to) and contaminating our samples, can take it back. Ethereal.

Our cheese, whipped. Ethereal.

You should watch the video. Make sure he really, really said it. I’m awfully tired, perhaps I’m just dreaming.

Here is the link to the video: http://www.veria.com/video/good-food-america-webisode-walrus-and-the-carpenter-seattle-washington-buckwheat-crepes

Ethereal. That (with the delightful buckwheat crepe and pear dessert) is where my dreams will take me tonight. Perhaps tomorrow you’ll come to market and pick up some cheese and give me some other wonderful descriptive words for it!

Thanks for your support… and for not being one of those people that make me call on my support chefs for backup!

Oh, since I don’t have a picture for this post, I’m going to include one I took that last time I was lucky enough to get to enjoy dinner at the Walrus and the Carpenter… maybe this will motivate you to head over there:

the Walrus and the Carpenter

the Walrus and the Carpenter

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, Cheese, It's Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ethereal

  1. Bob T Panda says:

    Congratulations! I knew it was just a matter of time. As one of my painting mentors once said, “The world is waiting to recognize excellence.”

  2. Reblogged this on LittleBrownFarm and commented:

    Chef Eli is at Bayview Farmers Market for the chef demo tomorrow… I’m not sure I could be more excited!!

  3. Pingback: Sabbatical? Sort of… | LittleBrownFarm

Leave a Reply

