Cajeta

There is so much going on at the Little Brown Farm this week!

Construction is under whey… er, way. For those of you aware of our Kickstarter project – yes, it was successful! (Thank you!!) We will keep updates coming here and on our facebook page.

For my wonderful Kickstarter Backers, we are still waiting on some survey responses to get rewards ordered! If you haven’t filled yours out yet, please do!

Tom is back home, and I’m not the only one who was happy to see him helping with evening chores again… (hopefully someday Tom will forgive me for posting these pics).

Xenia is happy to have Tom home too!

Xenia is happy to have Tom home too!

Trying to smile for the camera...

Trying to smile for the camera…

In the dairy we have been busy creating a new product. Well, actually a very old product, but new for us. We believe we are the first micro-dairy in the Pacific Northwest making this new traditional product although there are some wonderful cheesemakers in other parts of the country already producing Cajeta.

Cajeta is a Mexican caramel sauce. Have you been to Mexico? Did you have flan there? Or how about a churro? Or almost any pastry? Do you remember the delightfully decadent caramel sauce they used? THAT is Cajeta. Cajeta is usually made from goats milk, whereas Dulce de Leche is the cow milk equivalent.

The hardest part of making Cajeta? Nope, surprisingly it isn’t the several hours over the hot simmering pot, it is keeping it in stock. We intended to roll this product out 3 weeks ago but one of our chef’s on a farm visit got to taste it and bought our entire inventory.

This isn’t a quick product to make. It takes literally HOURS, as in most people’s full work day, just stirring, and stirring, and more stirring. We can only do it in small batches that yield 10-14 jars at a time. So if we didn’t have the ‘problem’ with talented chefs grabbing our entire inventory before we can get it to the market… there is the problem of the simple fact that it is DELICIOUS!!! I can’t keep our family out of it!

Cajeta from the Little Brown Farm

Little Brown Farm’s newest product – Cajeta!

We put it on ice cream, on cheese (yes, try the chocolate on our Caprizella, it is Nom Nom good), on a spoon, or even drizzled on a waiting finger. We haven’t had the opportunity to bake with it, or put it on pancakes or pastries yet… we will, but we wanted to save SOME for our amazing market peeps! (ooh! I DID have it on apples – I think it qualifies as an OMG!!!)… have you ever had a Caramel Latte? Ugh, I’m drooling on the keyboard now.

Anyway… I think I need to grab a spoonful of the chocolate one (made with Fair Trade Organic Cacao) and get this fence built so construction can stay on schedule.

More updates will be coming, but for now… *happy dance* we have Cajeta! We will be bringing some to each of our markets (and it WILL sell out). Our markets this week are Queen Anne Farmers Market (Thursday 3-7:30pm), Langley Second Street Market (Friday 3-7pm), Bayview Farmers Market (Saturday 10am-2pm) and Mercer Island Farmers Market (Sunday 10am-3pm).

Thank you so much for your continued support.

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, Cheese and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cajeta

  1. estei says:

    Hey does that travel abroad?
    I think my wife would love some… uhmm you know if she ever gets close to it when I get my grubby mitts on it.

    Rasmus

  2. rhonda says:

    Yay Vicki! We love Cajeta here and are thrilled to see you bring it to markets. It is a long-standing Christmas tradition here on our farm. In fact, it was my ‘go to’ food in the 1970’s when I was pregnant with my first child in Texas. Lucky customers who get a jar of yours.

    • Thank you Rhonda!! I will make sure to have a jar for you when we can start keeping inventory up in it. I’d love to see how it compares with the Texas tastebuds! 😉 I know it has all the Californian cajeta consumers smiling… and we haven’t even had the ‘traditional’ version out for tasting yet.

  3. Oooh, so intrigued by this! I have gotta get myself living full time on the farm so that I can get a dairy goat. For now, I am stuck with animals that don’t require daily milking. 🙂 Congrats on the kickstart win, I am looking forward to seeing your progress.

    • Let me know when you’re ready for ‘dairy’ girls – I might be able to offer some helpful hints that will save you some headache and heartache! I can also give you some great tips on easy quick things to do with all that extra milk!!

  4. estei says:

    Bette says that you should send some over, you know just to ensure that it is good….. Can test if it travels well you know… Pwease give some lovin’ to da foreigners *puppyeyes*

    • I think maybe I should try and find a quart jar for you and Bette. 🙂
      If she ever comes to visit me again I’ll show her how to make it… (thinking of whatever bribery I can to get you two over here!!)

  5. Pingback: Junuary « 3 Crows Whidbey

Leave a Reply

