A Lovey Day on the Farm (not a typo)

Today could have been a crappy day on the farm. It qualified, enough things went wrong thanks to the storm front that blew through and other issues.

Instead, today was a great day on the farm.

Today, with the help of an amazing helpful volunteer, we were able to completely make over our milk room from winter (non-production) to spring (production, and how!).

We were able to teach two friends how to hand-milk, with the help of Velvet Rose and Yreka, aka Spot (they were naturals too!).

We were able to help welcome another beautiful doeling into this world, with Reba doing most of the work.

With the help of my amazing, devoted, marvelous husband, we were even able to fix the damage done to our storage shed by the wind.

AND, I got to see my sweet Maggie’s baby Lovey (who came by for a quick visit this afternoon)!!!

One of Maggie's little girls

Lovey, one of Maggie's little girls, came home for a visit today!

SQUEEEEEEEEE!!!! She looks just like Maggie (not coloring, but her build is identical).

I am such a lucky girl… today is one of the many reasons why I love this life.

Thank you for each of you that helped to make today special and memorable for the wonderful things it held… and especially Anna, who has a special gift of making me feel held together, even when I feel the world unraveling around me!

(input requisite plug for kickstarter here…. http://kck.st/GW4Yal – if you haven’t checked this out yet, what are you waiting for? The video has cute kids and there is an easy place to click and help!)

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, Critters, It's Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Lovey Day on the Farm (not a typo)

  1. I found you guys on kickstarter so I had to start following the blog. I haven’t decided yet how much I want to contribute, but I think that it’s such a lovely idea and I wish you the best of luck. I have milked goats in the past and maybe eventually will get the chance to again. For now, however, I am venturing into uncharted territory with Boer goats. I will look for more updates!

    • We welcome any contribution, at any time – thanks for connecting with us!
      I saw you’re an aspiring vet back in my old home turf (grew up in WI & MN)… good job! The world needs more great vets!
      I wish you were closer to come play with all our baby goats… if you ever make it to WA there’s a goat dairy you’re welcome at for certain! 🙂

      • Aww thanks so much! It’s so nice to hear that from people who truly love raising animals. I’m just trying to learn everything I can from everyone I can. There’s definitely a lot of room to grow but I just find the local/sustainable food movement a fantastic place to get involved, especially from a veterinary perspective!

Leave a Reply

