Spring 2012 – It’s raining babies!

Spring is here, I’m sure it is because we’re up to our knees in babies!

It isn’t actually raining babies (at least I hope not, we have 7 expectant mommas tucked safely in the barn though).

So far this year we have had 2 lambs and 18 goats. We still have 6 more ewes (sheep) that are pregnant, and 14 more does (goats). We have a ways to go before bottles are no longer a part of our daily routine.

The most recent babies are from Velvet Rose. For those of you who don’t know how much I love Velvet, you might need to read a few blogs back, I’m sure I wax on about her plenty. I seriously adore this lovely lady. She has given me just cause. This year alone… check out these kids:

Velvet Rose's 2012 kids

Velvet's gorgeous babies (2012)

So, let’s pretend that isn’t enough. Her first daughter (Xenia) gave me 5 liters of milk 3 days ago. This time of year I don’t normally keep that close of track, but I was so surprised by her morning milking I decided to pay attention that evening too. Yep. 5 liters when she was just under 2 weeks fresh (fresh=had babies).

Genetics for milk, personality of a pet, babies to capture the eye and the heart… how could I not adore Velvet?

Back to the bottle… for the babies, not for me (this time).

For some fun baby videos (our Kid-ergarten), check out the farm Facebook page (littlebrownfarm)! More kids just joined the class.

Cheese news to come soon!!

 

 

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in About the Farm, Critters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring 2012 – It’s raining babies!

  1. Dori says:

    I just love all those spots! : )

Leave a Reply

