September eat local challenge? Dinner is served.

September has brought the annual ‘eat local’ challenge. I try to do my part year round, but after a long challenging day, hobbling around the farm doing chores on my own for the first time since I fell and hurt my ankle, a fresh local dinner is deserved and could have been a challenge.

Often people think ‘fresh local dinner’ means washing and cutting and baking and searing and kneading and slicing and dicing.

Not in our house.

It can mean putting hours of effort into preparing, but I find one of the benefits of eating market fresh foods is that the hours of work that makes a meal taste delicious have already been put in what I make.

Tonight dinner was exceptionally quick and exceptionally local – I needed to get my ankle up and on ice, so what was I to do?

A purple potato from Willowood Farm cooked through – one of our Taste of Whidbey (the one with Willowood’s garlic and olive oil) on it, then liberal splashes of a local salsa (special mix for Djangofest picked up at the Langley Second Street Market).

The purple potato was amazing (yeah, I never thought I would use amazing to describe a potato) – the cooked skin became an irridescent purple a teenager would strive for as a nail color, the inside was a delightful combination of blues and purples. Truly beautiful and delicious to… if you’ve never seen one I highly recommend you get down to Bayview Farmers Market next week and invest in some local farmers!

Local Dinner

Local Dinner

Once the potato was cooked, prep time was less than a minute. Then I could sit, get my frozen lima beans on my ankle and write a long overdue blog. Not the most interesting blog (seriously, a ‘this is what I had for dinner blog???? my apologies), but it’s a start… I’m baaaaaack!!

About Chief Milkmaid

A former executive, now goatmilker and cheesemaker, I am the Chief Milkmaid of the Little Brown Farm.
This entry was posted in Cheese, It's Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September eat local challenge? Dinner is served.

  1. Bridget says:

    looks and sounds yummmyy! and great this it was fast!

Leave a Reply

